RTGS and NEFT Holiday List 2012

RTGS and NEFT Holiday List 2012

RTGS and NEFT Holiday List 2012

I was trying to transfer inter bank money through NEFT (National Electronic Funds Transfer) and realized today is a holiday for both NEFT and RTGS (Real Time Gross Settlement). I thought of sharing the list of holidays for RTGS/ NEFT in 2012 with my readers.

RTGS and NEFT Holiday List 2012

S. No. Date Occasion
1 Thursday, January 26, 2012 Republic Day
2 Monday, April 02, 2012 Annual Closing of Banks
3 Friday, April 06, 2012 Good Friday
4 Monday, July 02, 2012 Annual Closing of RBI
5 Wednesday, August 15, 2012 Independence Day
6 Monday, August 20, 2012 Ramjan Id (Id-Ul-Fitar) (Shawal-1)
7 Saturday, September 29, 2012 Half Yearly Closing of Banks
8 Tuesday, October 02, 2012 Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti
9 Wednesday, October 24, 2012 Dasara / Dashami
10 Tuesday, November 13, 2012 Diwali Amavasya (Laxmi Pujan) / Kali Puja
11 Tuesday, December 25, 2012 Christmas

Also both RTGS and NEFT is closed on Sundays.

NEFT Timings:

NEFT operates in hourly batches. Currently, it has 11 settlements from 9:00 AM to 7:00 PM on weekdays and five settlements from 9:00 AM to 1:00 PM on Saturdays. So, in case you initiate a transaction after a settlement time you have no option but to wait till the next settlement time.

RTGS Timings:

The service window for RTGS at banks is available from 9:00 AM to 4.30 PM on week days and from 9:00 AM to 1.30 PM on Saturdays for settlement at the RBI end. Keep in mind that the timings that each bank follows may vary.

One thought on “RTGS and NEFT Holiday List 2012

  1. Madhusudan Dattatraya Nimkar says:

    Does it mean that on other public holidays the RTGS and NEFT transactions take place?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *